A Third Ear for McStine & Minnemann

MCSTINE & MINNEMAN, McStine & Minnemann (RJPR Music, 2020)


  • Randy McStine: guitar, bass, vocals and assorted instruments
  • Marco Minnemann: Drums, vocals, and assorted instruments


  1. Program
  2. Falling From Grace
  3. Your Offenses
  4. Catrina
  5. Top of the Bucket
  6. Tear the Walls Down (No Memories)
  7. Fly
  8. Activate
  9. The Closer
  10. Voyager

Put two powerhouse musicians in a room together and good things are bound to happen. The debut effort from Randy McStine (Lo-Fi Resistance) and Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, Joe Satriani, Steven Wilson), called Simply McStine and Minnemann (RJPR Music, out July 3) is no exception. The two have created a quality mix of high-energy progressive pop destined to satisfy instrumentalists and song-lovers alike.

The duo met in 2018 while working on other projects, but soon discovered a shared chemistry in their love for artists like XTC, The Poilce, Queen, and Frank Zappa among others. They got together to record an EP, but their bond proved too strong for that limitation. Their shared abilities as multi-instrumentalists helped usher forth an uncompromising mesh of sounds emanating from both darkness and light, each with equal skill and passion.

Progressive rock fans accustomed to lengthier tracks might be surprised by the relative brevity behind songs like “Activate,” “Fly,” and “Your Offenses.” But these songs are precisely as long as they need to be, with each musician ripping through them with joyful abandon and giving the listeners plenty to enjoy along with way. No doubt this music could achieve an even higher level played live. But there is more than enough to enjoy from this studio effort.

McStine and Minnemann reminds us of everything we like about music written and performed by true players. It is well worth hearing.


McStine and Minnemann

You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (cirdecsongs) My book, I Can’t Be the Only One Hearing This: A Lifetime of Music Through Eclectic Ears, is available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other fine book dealers.

Would you like to have your album reviewed? Contact me at cirdecsongs@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s